My Three Words for 2013

Let’s get a few things straightened out right away. I use this space to write about the intersection of sports and social media. This blog post has nothing to do with social media. It has nothing to do with sports. It has everything to do with getting better in 2013. If you aren’t interested in that, I won’t blame you for closing this page and spending your time elsewhere.

Still here? Excellent.

This may come as a shock to you, but sometime between the recent increase of Boflex TV infomercials and outdoor signage for discounted gym memberships, the idea of New Years resolutions came to my mind. When it comes to resolutions, most people likely fall into one of two camps: either they despise the idea of resolutions, or they set unrealistic resolutions that are difficult to stick with for a month, never mind a full year. Others, like myself, jump from one camp to the other.

This year, I was president of the unrealistic resolutions camp. I had a laundry list of things I wanted to do this year. I wanted to learn instruments and languages. I wanted to earn promotions and more money. I wanted to be physically fit and be a more fit husband. Basically, I wanted to be perfect.

Then I read Chris Brogan’s post titled “My Three Words for 2012.” The premise is simple: Chris picks three words every year that help him better focus his goals and efforts. If you want to learn more about the process, you can (and I recommend that you do) read his entire post here.

Inspired by Chris, I scrapped my long list of resolutions, and in their place, have thought up three words that I want to guide me in 2013.

1) Confidence: Do you know what my first thought was when I originally created my laundry list of resolutions? “I won’t be able to do this.” You don’t have to be a genius to know that’s a bad attitude to have when starting something. For years, I’ve suffered from low self-esteem and a belief that all others are better than myself. But do you know what happens when you believe that? It becomes true. That’s a bad outcome, and it doesn’t have to be that way. In 2013, it won’t. In 2013, I resolve to believe in myself. Believe in my opinions, my efforts, my abilities, and my intelligence. In 2013, I’m going to be confident.

2) Focus: Do you know who multi-tasks? Everyone. Do you know who isn’t very good at multi-tasking? Everyone. Like a lot of people, I think I’m pretty good at multi-tasking, and like a lot of people, I’m wrong. I used to multi-task because I felt inefficient if I didn’t. If you’re not putting 100% of your energy into something though, you’re worse than inefficient; you’re wasting your time. So in 2013, I’m going to focus. I’m not going to answer emails while I write blog posts. I’m not going to check my company’s Facebook or Twitter feeds when someone walks into my office to ask me a question. On the other hand, will I check Twitter while watching sports on TV? Absolutely. Hey, nobody’s perfect.

3) Tebow: TWIST! I bet you didn’t see that word coming. Look, I know Tim Tebow hasn’t played a meaningful role in a football game in over a year, and I know he’s talked about too much by the national media. I also know that’s he’s always handled himself professionally in front of the media, has always seen his larger role in life, and has always been positive when faced with adversity. We could use a little more of that in this world. So this year, I want to be a little more like Tebow. I want to stay above the low level gossip that makes its way into the office on a day-to-day basis. I want to take the high road when faced with a conflict and realize that in the grand scheme of things, it likely isn’t that important. Am I striving to be a saint? No. Even Tim Tebow has his breaking point. I just want to be a better person, with a more positive outlook on life and a bigger vision.

So there you go. Confidence. Focus. Tebow. Three words I plan on using in 2013 to become a better person. Like Chris asked in his original blog post, I’d love to know what three words you could come up with to focus your goals in 2013. If you feel like sharing, I welcome your comments below.

Here’s to a more confident, focused, and Tebowy 2013.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Chris P

     /  January 2, 2013

    Steve, great post. I personally wrote out a bunch of resolutions and posted them to facebook so I would be more accountable, but mainly so I couldn’t forget them. As soon as I saw this I knew that I could use these 3 words to always remember how I will get there. With that said, here’s what I have:

    1) Volleyball – Beach or indoor, 2 or 6 people, volleyball is about communication, balance, and trust. 2013 is a year for me to improve all of those things and remember that there is no ‘I’ in team. While triathlons may be my sport of choice in 2013, I wouldn’t be able to compete without the love and support of everyone who helps me train, physically and emotionally.

    2) Surprise – 2013 is a year for me to surprise myself as well as others. Overcoming obstacles and fighting through pain are something I do on a regular basis, but extrapolate that to work and other life experiences. My friends and family know me as someone who is always rushed and late. I resolve to fix that this year and become someone they can depend on. I want to continue to surprise my coworkers by developing new skills and myself by breaking boundaries that have been around for years.

    3) Dad – In all the time I was lucky enough to spend with my dad, he never once put himself before me. He coached my teams and taught me things that I’ve only begun to realize nearly 20 years later. He advocated for me and pushed me when he knew I needed it. He would never take less than 110% and he was right to do so. My family deserves 110% of me this year, as do my friends.

    Thanks for the inspiration :)

    Reply
    • Hey Chris – these are great words. I hope they serve you well throughout the year. The Dad one is especially powerful. Good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 513 other followers

